Skip to main content - The Animal Encyclopedia for Kids


Main Characteristics of Ungulates

  • There are about 240 species of hoofed animals. They're called ungulates.
  • Ungulates can be even-toed or odd-toed.
  • Even-toed ungulates include hippos, pigs, camels and ruminants such as giraffes, deer, goats, sheep, gazelles and antelopes.
  • Odd-toed ungulates include horses, donkeys, zebras, tapirs and rhinos.
  • The largest hoofed animal is the giraffe. It grows up to 20 feet (6 meters) tall.
  • The smallest ungulate is the Java mouse-deer, a deer piglet. Its height is 12 inches (30 cm) its weight 2-5 pounds (1-2 kg) – which is about the same as a rabbit.

Species List


Most Read Mammal Fact Sheets

See all topics on